short.cummings

What I Mogged – Thurs, Jan 10

Posted in Music by collinevan on January 11, 2008

I write all over the place. I blog for a living, I write for my business, I write about music, and I very occasionally enter my thoughts here.

MOG is the site I use to blog about music. It’s a social network for the uber music geek inside. It’s a place that all my obsessive compadres like to gather and discuss and dissect music to a level that is unbearable to the common man. Really, it’s brilliant.

Since music is an inseparable part of me, I decided to force feed my personal blog readers with the occasional helping of my MOG blog. Read it, love it. Listen to the music I put up there.

What I Mogged – Thursday, Jan 10

loney-dear.jpg

A ginormous comet of pure awesomeness struck last year and music was declared good. I’m having trouble letting go of stuff I listened to at the beginning of the year.

Loney, Dear put out probably what is the most genius record I think I have heard in a long time. The only thing I can think of that rivals it last year was Arcade Fire’s “Neon Bible” release in the latter part of the year. Either way, I’ve been rocking both albums sufficiently for at least 2 days.

The average music fan hits that point in their life where nothing gets better. Some dudes are still only listening to Boston. That’s awesome, but things evolve and retract. There are musical ebbs and flows, but each time something is reinvented it has it’s own style and attributes.

Those of us who are pure music geeks need a chance to branch out and hear something new. We evolve in our tastes.

Could this signal the end of my evolution? Have I settled on the year 2007?

Bah, no. Those were just some wicked good albums.

-collin

Tagged with: , , , ,

Leave a Reply

